Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Book: In The Shadow of Lions

My review of this fantastic book is at the bottom!


This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

In The Shadow Of Lions

David C. Cook; 1 edition (September 2008)

by

Ginger Garrett


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Ginger Garrett is the critically acclaimed author of Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther, which was recognized as one of the top five novels of 2006 by the ECPA, and Dark Hour. An expert in ancient women's history, Ginger creates novels and nonfiction resources that explore the lives of historical women.

Her newest release is Beauty Secrets of the Bible, (September 11, Thomas Nelson) based on the historical research that began in her work on Chosen. The book explores the connections between beauty and spirituality, offering women both historical insights and scientific proofs that reveal powerful, natural beauty secrets.

A frequent radio guest on stations across the country, including NPR and Billy Graham's The Hour of Decision, Ginger is also a popular television guest. Her appearances include Harvest Television, Friends & Neighbors, and Babbie's House. Ginger frequently serves as a co-host on the inspirational cable program Deeper Living.

In 2007, Ginger was nominated for the Georgia Author of the Year Award for her novel Dark Hour. When she's not writing, you may spy Ginger hunting for vintage jewelry at thrift stores, running (slowly) in 5k and 10k races, or just trying to chase down one of her errant sheepdogs. A native Texan, she now resides in Georgia with her husband and three children.


ABOUT THE BOOK


"I am the first writer, The Scribe. My books lie open before the Throne, and someday will be the only witness of your people and their time in this world."

So begins the narration of one such angel in this sweeping historical tale set during the reign of England's Henry VIII. It is the story of two women, their guardian angels, and a mysterious, subversive book ... a book that outrages some, inspires others, and launches the Protestant Reformation.

The devout Anne Boleyn catches the eye of a powerful king and uses her influence to champion an English translation of the Bible. Meanwhile, Rose, a broken, suicidal woman of the streets, is moved to seek God when she witnesses Thomas More's public displays of Christian charity, ignorant of his secret life spent eradicating the Bible, persecuting anyone who dares read it.

Historic figures come alive in this thrilling story of heroes and villains, saints and sinners, angels and mortals ... and the sacred book that will inspire you anew. Fans of Francine Rivers and Karen Kingsbury will love Ginger's intriguing combination of rich character development, artful settings, and inspiring historical insights.

***

Wow, this book came plenty early so for once I had time to read it at my leisure. And I definitely needed it.

I didn't really know the story of Anne Boylyn other than vaguely remembering that she was a wife of Henry VIII and that she lost her head for some reason.

This is a fictionalized account of how she came to be the queen and how it cost her her life. But what was fascinating to me was all the history happening during this time period. There is so much drama revolving around the Hutchins book. Whether or not to let the common people read it - if they could even read. Sir Thomas More and the church thought it was heretical and were torturing people and burning them to death over it.

In the middle of this, Anne goes to court and has the book with her. She has influence over Henry and thus sets up a power struggle between him and the church - not to mention the brou-ha-ha over the fact that he's already married to Catherine and Anne refuses to marry him while he's still married (this alone should tell you that she wasn't scheming and conniving!)

I always have a hard time remembering that their world is not like ours. They didn't have the Bible and had to depend upon what the (corrupt) church said. They were living in fear. We are so blessed to be able to have a Bible(s?) in our home and read it whenever we want without fear of death. It's too bad we(I) take it for granted so often when people died to bring about this change.

This book is fantastically written (oh, the one I'm reviewing is too!) and I highly recommend it. It's the first in a series about women in history... and did I mention it's written from the perspective of a "scribe" telling the story to a modern day woman? Good stuff! Can't wait for the next one!

If you would like to read an excerpt from In The Shadow Of Lions, go HERE

2 comments:

  1. Mrs. Mustard9:10 AM

    I definitely have to check this book out.
    If you are interested in Henry VIII stuff, check out Philippa Gregory's books. AND check out the Tudors on Showtime. Brilliant.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous5:24 AM

    Or check out Alison Weir's The Six Wives of King Henry VIII. Totally fascinating. The reason Anne Boleyn wouldn't be Henry's mistress (as her sister had done) was because she as determined to be a real queen and produce a legitimate heir to the throne. The recent Natalie Portman/Scarlett J movie wasn't bad, either. Though not half as good as Elizabeth (about Elizabeth I, with Cate Blanchett)-- that is a movie I could watch a hundred times! Allison

    ReplyDelete

Shower me with your wit, your wisdom, or your funny stories! And please leave an email address if you would like a reply.