Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Book: When The Soul Mends

This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

When The Soul Mends

WaterBrook Press (September 16, 2008)


Cindy Woodsmall


Cindy Woodsmall is a veteran homeschool mom. As her children progressed in age, her desire to write grew stronger. After working through reservations whether this desire was something she should pursue, she began her writing journey. Her husband was her staunchest supporter as she aimed for what seemed impossible.

Her first novel, When The Heart Cries, released in 2006 to much acclaim and became a Christian Book Association best seller. Cindy was a 2007 ECPA Christian Book Award finalist, along with Karen Kingsbury, Angela Hunt, and Charles Martin.

Her last book, When the Morning Comes, hit the New York Times best-sellers extended list and the Christian Book Association best-sellers list.

Cindy’s real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families enrich her novels with authenticity.

Cindy, her husband, their three sons and daughter-in-law reside in Georgia. Her husband is a registered land surveyor and a vice president at an engineering firm. Their oldest son has a bachelor’s degree in nuclear medicine and works at a local hospital. Their second son and his wife are both students at the University of Georgia. Their teen-aged son keeps the household energized with his love of music, books, and writing.


Returning to the home she fled in disgrace, will Hannah find healing for the wounds of the past?

After receiving a desperate and confusing call from her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community of her Pennsylvania childhood.

Having fled in disgrace more than two years earlier, she finally has settled into a satisfying role in the Englischer world. She also has found love and a new family with the wealthy Martin Palmer and the children she is helping him raise. But almost immediately after her arrival in Owl’s Perch, the disapproval of those who ostracized her, including her headstrong father, reopens old wounds.

As Hannah is thrown together with former fiancĂ© Paul Waddell to work for her sister Sarah’s mental health, hidden truths surface about events during Hannah’s absence, and she faces an agonizing decision. Will she choose the Englischer world and the man who restored her hope, or will she heed the call to return to the Plain Life–and perhaps to her first love?


This is the third and final book in the series. I knew I wanted to read the first two so I got them from the library... which is to say I had all three books in my possession at the same time. And once I got started I read them all in under 24 hours. Let's just say, this is the latest I've EVER stayed up reading!

I wasn't sure I was going to like the ending of the series, but Cindy works it out so that finally I agreed with Hannah's choice (no, I'm not going to tell you and spoil it!)

If this is an accurate portrayal of the Old Order Amish then it was slightly unsettling for me. The sense of males having total dominion over their household, even when they are so out of line as to cause lasting pain to their family. I guess that's true in many non-Amish households as well, but it seems like this was acceptable in this Christian community.

At any rate, I HIGHLY recommend these books, I couldn't put them down!

If you would like to read the first chapter of When The Soul Mends, go HERE

1 comment:

  1. OH I want to read this!!!! I love Beverly Lewis and this sounds like it's along that line of types of books.


Shower me with your wit, your wisdom, or your funny stories! And please leave an email address if you would like a reply.